Getting “reamed” for wanting to go paperless?

Standard

So with all of this new technology budding inside my head I am already visioning how I can eliminate so much of the paper that crosses my path in a day. I of course would be silly if I for one minute thought there would not be any struggles along the way. First and foremost, I will not have everyone see things the way I see them. Many will be skeptical, fearful, or just plain disinterested. None of that I have control over, but my hope is that instead of questioning my new ideas, maybe just watch and see what I do, and what kind of differences are visible. Additionally there is that little tiny issue of NOT having a wireless lab permanently positioned in the back of my room, so I am going to have to make a plan. With three or more wireless labs for our school to share, I simply have to utilize a great sharing opportunity, but insist that they never sit unused! We have two computer labs, but my first six weeks of school, my scheduled lab time is required for keyboarding…  so I am going to have to use the other lab frequently.  Possibly get at least 30 minutes every day in there.  I am going to have to have all my ducks in a row too…  No paperless plan will work without me being well versed in the usage of each tool I put into their hands.  I am already trying to get a vision in my mind… If  I have to beg, steal, or borrow… well maybe just borrow… I will…  Last year I permanently borrowed a fellow teacher’s SMART response for like six whole weeks… Shout out here to you Venita! I would love to make every weekly vocab test into a SMART response test…  20 kids times 36 weeks of those tests… That is 720 pieces of paper I won’t use! WOW- Perspective!  I can see it… Now I need to do it!

2 thoughts on “Getting “reamed” for wanting to go paperless?

  1. venita28

    Did you already do the ITTW grant? If they’re still doing it, I’m going to apply for 4 laptops.
    Maybe it’s time to allow students to use their mobile devices in the classroom. Or get a grant for s class set of iPods.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *